Planned Route

Please wait while the map data loads.

I'll be starting in Boston. After dipping my rear wheel in the Atlantic Ocean, I'll bike across Massachusetts through Worcester, Northampton, and Pittsfield. From Pittsfield I'll cross into New York, heading first to Albany, then to Niagara Falls via Schenectady, Syracuse, Seneca Falls, and Rochester. I'll turn south at the border and pedal into Buffalo, then set off along the south shore of Lake Erie. I'll celebrate Independence Day in Cleveland, Ohio, and arrive in Chicago by the second week in July.

After almost a week seeing friends and exploring Chicago, back on my bike I go. I'll cut through Illinois and across Iowa (if only RAGBRAI rode east to west!), then pass through Omaha and Lincoln on my way through southern Nebraska. After Nebraska comes the mountain passes of Colorado -- I look forward to visiting Denver, Boulder, and the delightfully-named Dinosaur. I'll cross into Utah just after Dinosaur, wave hello to the mountain bikers in Park City, and roll into Salt Lake City by late August.

It's too dangerous to bike through the northern Utah/Nevada desert by myself at that time of year, so I've decided to treat myself to my second-favorite form of travel: the train! Amtrak will convey me and my bicycle safely from Salt Lake City to Reno, Nevada. In Reno I'll be taking almost two weeks off to build, attend, and dismantle my favorite little corner of Black Rock City: Sukkat Shalom, a theme camp at Burning Man.

I'll be back in Reno and rarin' to go by the end of the first week in September. My friend Josh -- also a programmer -- will tag along with me from Reno to Carson City, up to Lake Tahoe, through the Sierras, and down into Sacramento. We'll meander across farm country and wine country on our way to the Golden Gate Bridge and the end of the journey.

Cities & Towns

  • Jamaica Plain, MA
  • Northampton, MA
  • Albany, NY
  • Schenectady, NY
  • Syracuse, NY
  • Seneca Falls, NY
  • Rochester, NY
  • Niagara Falls, NY
  • Buffalo, NY
  • Erie, PA
  • Cleveland, OH
  • Toledo, OH
  • Chicago, IL
  • Davenport, IA
  • Des Moines, IA
  • Omaha, NE
  • Lincoln, NE
  • Holdrege, NE
  • Denver, CO
  • Dinosaur, CO
  • Park City, UT
  • Salt Lake City, UT
  • Reno, NV
  • Pollock Pines, CA
  • Sacramento, CA
  • Calistoga, CA
  • San Francisco, CA
Day Date Destination
Massachusetts
Wednesday 6/15/2011 Wells State Park, Sturbridge, MA
Thursday 6/16/2011 Home of Josh & Ben, Northampton, MA
Friday 6/17/2011 Home of Josh & Ben, Northampton, MA
Saturday 6/18/2011 Pittsfield State Forest, Pittsfield, MA
New York
Sunday 6/19/2011 Home of Fran & Mark, Troy, NY
Monday 6/20/2011 Home of Fran & Mark, Troy, NY
Tuesday 6/21/2011 Home of Jace & Ashley, Galway, NY
Wednesday 6/22/2011 Home of Mary & Yves, Waterville, NY
Thursday 6/23/2011 Home of Laurie & Andy, Syracuse, NY
Friday 6/24/2011 Home of Laurie & Andy, Syracuse, NY
Saturday 6/25/2011 Home of JP, Rochester, NY
Sunday 6/26/2011 Home of JP, Rochester, NY
Monday 6/27/2011 Medina / Wildwood Lake KOA, Medina, NY
Tuesday 6/28/2011 Home of Veronica & Jon, Buffalo, NY
Wednesday 6/29/2011 Home of Veronica & Jon, Buffalo, NY
Thursday 6/30/2011 Home of Veronica & Jon, Buffalo, NY
Friday 7/1/2011 Home of Don & Betsy, Dunkirk, NY
Pennsylvania
Saturday 7/2/2011 Home of Tom, Erie, PA
Ohio
Sunday 7/3/2011 Home of Mary & Jack, Jefferson, OH
Monday 7/4/2011 Home of Meagen & Evan, Cleveland, OH
Tuesday 7/5/2011 Home of Kat & Eric, Cleveland, OH
Wednesday 7/6/2011 Home of Kat & Eric, Cleveland, OH
Thursday 7/7/2011 Home of Kelly & Dave, Norwalk, OH
Friday 7/8/2011 Home of Justin, Waterville, OH
Saturday 7/9/2011 Ramada Inn, Holiday City, OH
Indiana
Sunday 7/10/2011 Home of Jodi & Ben, Goshen, IN
Monday 7/11/2011 Home of Jamie & Mike, South Bend, IN
Illinois
Tuesday 7/12/2011 Home of @nickd, Chicago, IL
Wednesday 7/13/2011 Home of @nickd, Chicago, IL
Thursday 7/14/2011 Home of @agentFin, Chicago, IL
Friday 7/15/2011 Home of @agentFin, Chicago, IL
Saturday 7/16/2011 Home of @agentFin, Chicago, IL
Sunday 7/17/2011 Home of @agentFin, Chicago, IL
Monday 7/18/2011 Home of @nickd, Chicago, IL
Tuesday 7/19/2011 Home of Matt, Minooka, IL
Wednesday 7/20/2011 Spring Valley, IL
Iowa
Thursday 7/21/2011 Spring Valley, IL
Friday 7/22/2011 Home of Dean & Marybeth, Davenport, IA
Saturday 7/23/2011 Home of Dean & Marybeth, Davenport, IA
Sunday 7/24/2011 Home of Mal & Carmen / Home of Benn & Celia, Iowa City, IA
Monday 7/25/2011 Home of Jonah, Grinnell, IA
Tuesday 7/26/2011 Home of Fred and Susan, Altoona, IA
Wednesday 7/27/2011 Home of Meg, Panora, IA
Thursday 7/28/2011 Atlantic, IA
Nebraska
Friday 7/29/2011 Home of Daniel, Omaha, NE
Saturday 7/30/2011 Home of Daniel, Omaha, NE
Sunday 7/31/2011 Home of Chris and Colin, Lincoln, NE
Monday 8/1/2011 Home of Chris and Colin, Lincoln, NE
Colorado
Tuesday 8/2/2011 Home of Scott, Denver, CO
Wednesday 8/3/2011 Home of Scott, Denver, CO
Thursday 8/4/2011 Home of Scott, Denver, CO
Friday 8/5/2011 Home of Scott, Denver, CO
Saturday 8/6/2011 Home of Scott, Denver, CO
Sunday 8/7/2011 Home of Scott, Denver, CO
Monday 8/8/2011 Home of Scott, Denver, CO
Tuesday 8/9/2011 Boulder, CO
Wednesday 8/10/2011 Home of Amy & Ronica, Boulder, CO
Thursday 8/11/2011 Home of Amy & Ronica, Boulder, CO
Friday 8/12/2011 Camping in Estes Park, CO (Mary's Lake)
Saturday 8/13/2011 Camping in Grand Lake, CO (Stillwater)
Sunday 8/14/2011 Rest day in Granby, CO
Monday 8/15/2011 Camping near Kremmling, CO
Tuesday 8/16/2011 Steamboat Springs, CO
Wednesday 8/17/2011 Steamboat Springs, CO
Thursday 8/18/2011 Craig, CO
Friday 8/19/2011 Dinosaur, CO
Utah
Saturday 8/20/2011 Roosevelt, UT
Sunday 8/21/2011 Tabiona, UT
Monday 8/22/2011 Heber, UT
Tuesday 8/23/2011 Home of Eleanor, Salt Lake City, UT
Wednesday 8/24/2011 Home of Eleanor, Salt Lake City, UT
Thursday 8/25/2011 Overnight train to Reno, NV
Nevada
Friday 8/26/2011 Home of Marcia, Reno, NV
Saturday 8/27/2011 Burning Man, Black Rock City, NV
Sunday 8/28/2011 Burning Man, Black Rock City, NV
Monday 8/29/2011 Burning Man, Black Rock City, NV
Tuesday 8/30/2011 Burning Man, Black Rock City, NV
Wednesday 8/31/2011 Burning Man, Black Rock City, NV
Thursday 9/1/2011 Burning Man, Black Rock City, NV
Friday 9/2/2011 Burning Man, Black Rock City, NV
Saturday 9/3/2011 Burning Man, Black Rock City, NV
Sunday 9/4/2011 Burning Man, Black Rock City, NV
Monday 9/5/2011 Burning Man, Black Rock City, NV
Tuesday 9/6/2011 Burning Man, Black Rock City, NV
Wednesday 9/7/2011 Home of Marcia, Reno, NV
Thursday 9/8/2011 Home of Marcia, Reno, NV
Friday 9/9/2011 Carson City, NV
California
Saturday 9/10/2011 South Lake Tahoe, CA
Sunday 9/11/2011 Pollock Pines, CA
Monday 9/12/2011 Home of Anna & Don, Sacramento, CA
Tuesday 9/13/2011 Home of Anna & Don, Sacramento, CA
Wednesday 9/14/2011 Napa, CA
Thursday 9/15/2011 Napa, CA
Friday 9/16/2011 Mill Valley, CA
Saturday 9/17/2011 San Francisco, CA